If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Florida, comparison shopping is key. Rates for the same coverage options differ from one company to the next and are based on personal factors such as your age, driving record and credit history.
To help simplify things, cheatgame.info researched rates from the seven largest insurers in Florida and found the cheapest choices for several driver groups.
Cheapest for good drivers in Florida
For good drivers with good credit, State Farm is this year’s cheapest insurer in Florida, coming in at $159 per month, on average. Geico and Liberty Mutual round out the cheapest three for 2019.
|State Farm||$1,914/year ($159/month)|
|Liberty Mutual||$2,306/year ($192/month)|
Cheapest for drivers with poor credit
Liberty Mutual is the cheapest insurer for good drivers with poor credit in Florida, at about $280 per month, on average. State Farm and Geico come in second and third, respectively.
|Liberty Mutual||$3,362/year ($280/month)|
|State Farm||$3,396/year ($283/month)|
Cheapest for drivers with one at-fault crash
State Farm came out far cheaper than its competitors for Florida drivers with a recent wreck at roughly $185 per month, on average. Geico and Liberty Mutual round out the cheapest three.
|State Farm||$2,223/year ($185/month)|
|Liberty Mutual||$2,795/year ($233/month)|
Cheapest for low-mileage drivers
State Farm comes in cheapest for Floridians who don’t drive much, at about $138 per month, on average. Geico and Liberty Mutual round out the cheapest three insurers for low-mileage drivers.
|State Farm||$1,656/year ($138/month)|
|Liberty Mutual||$2,042/year ($170/month)|
Cheapest for minimum coverage in Florida
For bare-bones auto coverage in Florida, Geico came out cheapest in our test at approximately $68 per month, on average. State Farm and Liberty Mutual round out the cheapest three.
|State Farm||$928/year ($77/month)|
|Liberty Mutual||$970/year ($81/month)|
Cheapest for military families
If you’re an active member of the military or a veteran — or have an immediate family member who is — chances are you’ll get a very good rate with USAA, an option that isn’t available to the general public. USAA was by far the cheapest option for every category above, except drivers with poor credit. The insurer also has had historically top-rated customer service.
Minimum car insurance requirements in Florida
Floridians must carry property damage liability and personal injury protection (PIP) in the following amounts:
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident.
- $10,000 personal injury protection.
If you’re at fault in a crash, the Florida Financial Responsibility Law also requires you to be able to pay up to:
- $10,000 in bodily injury liability per person.
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability per accident.
Experts recommend buying more than the bare minimum when it comes to all parts of your auto liability insurance. You might want added protection from optional coverages such as collision, comprehensive and uninsured motorist insurance.
Check out cheatgame.info’s guide to car insurance requirements by state for more details on coverage you might want on your Florida auto policy.
Alternative auto insurance in Florida
Sunshine State drivers who’ve been denied car insurance because of a spotty driving history or other factors can apply for coverage through the Florida Automobile Joint Underwriting Association.
For more help finding cheap car insurance in Florida, try cheatgame.info’s car insurance quote comparison tool.
No-fault insurance in Florida
Florida is one of several states that has a no-fault car insurance system.
In most states, drivers who are injured in a car accident caused by someone else will seek reimbursement from the at-fault motorist’s insurance company. But under no-fault insurance, all parties involved in a crash first make injury claims to their own insurers, no matter who caused the incident.
Drivers in Florida are required to carry at least $10,000 of personal injury protection, which is also called Florida no-fault insurance.
PIP can also pay:
- Lost wages if crash-related injuries force you to miss work.
- The cost of hiring in-home care if you need help due to injuries.
- The cost of equipment you need while recovering, such as a wheelchair.
- Funeral costs.
Note that PIP will also cover your passengers’ injuries, but it doesn’t cover damage to your car. You go through the at-fault driver’s insurance for vehicle repairs or through your own collision coverage if you were responsible.
If you cause serious injuries, you can still be sued. That’s why it’s a good idea to also buy liability coverage for injuries if you live in Florida.
» MORE: PIP coverage in no-fault states
Cheapest car insurance in Florida
|Good drivers||State Farm|
|Drivers with poor credit||Liberty Mutual|
|Drivers with one at-fault crash||State Farm|
|Low-mileage drivers||State Farm|
|Minimum coverage in Florida||Geico|
|Drivers with a military connection||USAA|
- $100,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person.
- $300,000 bodily injury liability coverage per crash.
- $50,000 property damage liability coverage per crash.
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person.
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per crash.
- $10,000 personal injury protection.
- Collision coverage with $1,000 deductible.
- Comprehensive coverage with $1,000 deductible.
We used the same assumptions for all other driver profiles, with the following exceptions:
- For drivers with poor credit, we adjusted the credit tier from “good” to “poor.”
- For drivers with one at-fault crash, we added a single at-fault crash.
- For low-mileage drivers, we adjusted the miles driven from 12,000 per year to 5,000.
- For drivers with minimum coverage, we adjusted the numbers above to reflect minimum required coverage by law in the state.
We used a 2015 Toyota Camry in all cases. These are rates generated through Quadrant Information Services. Your own rates will be different.